DPS Logo

Texas Department of Public Safety

TxDPS Sex Offender Registry

USER: Anonymous (0,0) SERVER: DPSWEB7 DATE:4/23/2014 5:19:08 AM LANG:ENGLISH (UNITED STATES)

TxDPS Sex Offender Registry

Support by Phone

  • For support on this topic, call (866) 220-0679

Support By Email

Sex Offender Registry FAQ

Public Sex Offender

Searching

Other


How does the Texas Department of Public Safety keep track of sex offenders?

Top

Convicted sex offenders are required to register with local law enforcement in the jurisdiction where they live. That information also is provided to the Department of Public Safety, which maintains a public database of names, crimes and addresses.

How long are offenders required to be kept on the sex offender registry?

Top

Registry requirements can be anywhere from 10 years to life, depending on the crime.

A person convicted of indecent exposure may be required to register for only 10 years, while a convicted rapist would be on the list for life.

What kind of notice is provided to the community when a registered sex offender is released from prison?

Top

If an offender is deemed likely to commit another crime, postcards with the name of the offender and a photo are mailed to homes within three blocks of offenders in municipal areas and within one mile of offenders in rural areas.

What are the state laws concerning sex offenders and children?

Top

Paroled sex offenders are not allowed to be within 500 feet of any place where children are known to congregate. This is known as a “Child Safety Zone.” Offenders who are placed on probation also may be ordered by a judge to avoid children, but once the offender has completed their sentence, there are no regulations preventing them from being around children.

How can I search for sex offenders?

Top

The Texas Department of Public Safety has a free sex offender search on this page:

http://records.txdps.state.tx.us/


Click on "Sex Offender Registry" on the left side of the page. You can search for a specific name or just enter a ZIP code to get a list of records in the area. The mapping feature allows you to enter your complete address to view a map with offender locations marked.

How can I find sex offenders in other states?

Top

The following website contains links to other states' sex offender databases:

http://www.nsopr.gov/


Note that www.nsopr.gov is not operated by the Texas Department of Public Safety or MicroAssist. We are not able to provide assistance for this website.

What are Risk Levels and how are they assigned?

Top

The Risk Assessment Review Committee, as established by the Texas Department of Criminal Justice is responsible for developing or selecting a sex offender screening tool to be used in determining the level of risk of a person subject to sex offender registration. The Texas Department of Criminal Justice, the Texas Youth Commission, or a court determines the person's level of risk to the community using the sex offender screening tool developed or selected by the Committee. The screening tool works similar to an insurance actuarial table. It cannot determine whether a particular offender will re-offend. It only indicates that a person with these characteristics has a higher probability of re-offending.

Each person released from a penal institution, or placed on community supervision or juvenile probation on or after January 1, 2000, and for whom sex offender registration is required, will be assigned a Risk Level.

Risk levels are classified by the following:

  • Civil Commitment
  • High Risk (Level 3)
  • Moderate Risk (Level 2)
  • Low Risk (Level 1)

Public Notification for Certain Sex Offenders

Top

Pursuant to Chapter 62, (Art 62.045 and Art 62.0451) of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, the Crime Records Service of the Texas Department of Public Safety is furnishing additional public notice for certain sex offenders. This notification supplements the Department's Sex Offender Registration web site and is separate from any local law enforcement notification activity, such as web sites, newspaper publication, public meetings, etc..

This notice will be mailed in the form of a postcard and will contain all public information captured in the Sex Offender Registration database as well as a photograph, when available.

This additional public notification will only affect current registered Sex Offenders who:

  • Are civilly committed as sexually violent predators or
  • Are evaluated and assigned a Risk Level 3 and were convicted of a sexual related offense on/after January 1, 2000.

Which offenders are civilly committed?

Top

Civil commitment offenders are repeat sexually violent offenders who suffer from a behavioral abnormality which makes the person likely to engage in a predatory act of sexual violence. These offenders are committed for outpatient treatment and supervision. These offenders are monitored closely by the law enforcement community 24 hours a day.

How are Risk Assesssments Defined?

Top

Risk levels as defined by Texas statute are as follows:

  • High (Level 3): a designated range of points on the sex offender screening tool indicating that the person poses a serious danger to the community and will continue to engage in criminal sexual conduct.
  • Moderate (Level 2): a designated range of points on the sex offender screening tool indicating a moderate danger to the community and may continue to engage in criminal sexual conduct.
  • Low (Level 1): a designated range of points on the sex offender screening tool indicating that the person poses a low danger to the community and will not likely engage in criminal sexual conduct.

Note: Not all registered sex offenders are required to have a risk assessment under current Texas law. The term "Not Available" indicates the offender is not required to have a risk assessment or the offender's risk assessment has not been reported to the Department of Public Safety.

Is information on the post card the same as on the web site?

Top

Yes. The information contained on the postcards is the same information published in the Sex Offender Registration web site. The purpose of this notification is to provide access to this information to the specific community for which the offender resides.

How does the department receive sex offender information?

Top

The Crime Records Service is the repository of criminal history and sex offender registration information for the State of Texas. Law enforcement agencies submit Registration and Update information to the department and this information is compiled into a database. This information is primarily used to communicate information between criminal justice agencies for the purpose of law enforcement and to provide public information on registered sex offenders to the citizens of Texas.

The Crime Records Service enters information submitted by law enforcement agencies into the Sex Offender Registration database. This information cannot be changed or altered unless the information is forwarded or verified from the criminal justice agency for which the original registration/update was submitted from. This ensures that the local law enforcement entity is aware of the status of the offender within their jurisdiction. This Website is updated hourly through entries made at DPS Headquarters and through electronic update submissions received from local law enforcement agencies.

Some of this information has been made accessible to the public. Pursuant to Art. 62.08, the Crime Records Service has made this information available to the public in the form of a web site.

Can I obtain more information on the sex offender or the offense?

Top

All information available to the public can be obtained through visiting the web site. By law, the Crime Records Service cannot release any additional information. All "public information" on registered sex offenders can be found on the DPS sponsored sex offender registration web site.

What should I do if I believe there is an error on this or any offender reported in the Sex Offender Registration database?

Top

The records maintained in the Sex Offender Registration database are those reported from the local law enforcement community. The Crime Records Service cannot amend registration/update information without the receipt of update information submitted by the local law enforcement agency in which the offender resides. Please report the incorrect information to the verification agency listed in the sex offender record.

Where can I find the law which governs the Sex Offender Registration Program?

Top

Chapter 62 (Sex Offender Registration Program), of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure is the Texas law which governs the Sex Offender Registration Program. Any local library should have reference materials available to research the law or you may provide a written request to the Crime Records Service for a copy of the legislation.

Who should I contact with any other questions regarding the Sex Offender Registration Program or its Web site?

Top

You may E-mail any additional Sex Offender Registration questions to txsor@dps.texas.gov or you may write:

Sex Offender Registration
Crime Records Service - MSC 0231
Texas Department of Public Safety
PO Box 4143
Austin, Texas 78765-4143

Telephone inquires can be directed to: (512) 424-2800.

What do I need to search the Public Sex Offender Database?

Top

Searching the Public Sex Offender Database is a free search and does NOT require a User ID. To search the database, simply click the "Search" button in the "Sex Offender" section (left-hand side).

How long does a sex offender have to register?

Top

Adult sex offenders register either for life or ten years following discharge from state supervision (i.e. incarceration, parole, or community supervision). Lifetime registration is required for the following offenses:

  1. Sexually Violent Offense.
    • Indecency with a Child by Contact (Section 21.11(a)(1), Penal Code);
    • Sexual Assault (Section 22.011, Penal Code);
    • Aggravated Sexual Assault (Section 22.021, Penal Code);
    • Sexual Performance by a Child (Section 43.25, Penal Code);
    • Aggravated Kidnapping, if committed with the intent to violate or abuse the victim sexually (Section 20.04(a)(4), Penal Code);
    • Burglary (Section 30.02, Penal Code) if the premises burglarized was a habitation and the offense was committed with the intent to commit indecency with a child, sexual assault, aggravated sexual assault, prohibited sexual conduct, or aggravated kidnapping with sexual intent; and
    • an offense under the laws of another state, federal law, the laws of a foreign country, or the Uniform Code of Military Justice if the offense contains elements that are substantially similar to the elements of one of the above Texas offenses.
  2. Prohibited Sexual Conduct (Incest) (Section 25.02, Penal Code);
  3. Compelling Prostitution of a Minor (Section 43.05(a)(2), Penal Code);
  4. Possession or Promotion of Child Pornography (Section 43.26, Penal Code);
  5. Indecency with a Child by Exposure (Section 21.11(a)(2), Penal Code), if before or after being convicted or adjudicated for this offense, the person receives or has received another reportable conviction or adjudication, other than an adjudication of delinquent conduct, for an offense or conduct that requires registration; and
  6. Unlawful Restraint (Section 20.02, Penal Code), Kidnapping (Section 20.03, Penal Code), or Aggravated Kidnapping (Section 20.04, Penal Code) if the judgment in the case contains an affirmative finding that the victim or intended victim was younger than 17 years of age and, if before or after the person is convicted or adjudicated for one of these offenses, the person receives or has received another reportable conviction or adjudication, other than an adjudication of delinquent conduct, for an offense or conduct that requires registration.

Adult sex offenders will register for 10 years following discharge from state supervision for any offense that does not require lifetime registration (i.e. attempted sexual assault and second indecent exposure).

Juvenile sex offenders, those who register on the basis of an adjudication of delinquent conduct, register until the 10th anniversary of the date on which the disposition in their case was made or the juvenile completes the terms of the disposition, whichever date is later.

TOP