
Texas Offenses Tiered Under the Federal Adam Walsh Act (42 U.S.C. Section 16911 et seq.) 
April 2013 

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 62, Subchapter I.  Early Termination of Certain Persons’ Obligation to Register. 

Art. 62.402. Determination of Minimum Required Registration Period 
(a) The department by rule shall determine the minimum required registration period under federal law for each reportable conviction 

or adjudication under this chapter. 

(b) After determining the minimum required registration period for each reportable conviction or adjudication under Subsection (a), 

the department shall compile and publish a list of reportable convictions or adjudications for which a person must register under this 

chapter for a period that exceeds the minimum required registration period under federal law. 

(c) To the extent possible, the department shall periodically verify with the United States Department of Justice's Office of Sex 
Offender Sentencing, Monitoring, Apprehending, Registering, and Tracking or another appropriate federal agency or office the 

accuracy of the list of reportable convictions or adjudications described by Subsection (b). 

Registrants who were 17 years of age or older at the time the offense 

resulting in a reportable conviction or adjudication was committed 

1 

Reportable convictions or adjudications where the registration period under Texas law exceeds the minimum registration period under 

federal law 
 Length of Duty to Register as a Sex Offender 

Texas Offense Texas Federal 

§ 20.02 
 

Unlawful restraint with an Art. 42.015 affirmative finding that 

the victim was younger than 17 years of age & the offender is 

the parent or guardian of the victim 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20.03 
 

Kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative finding that the 

victim was younger than 17 years of age & the offender is the 

parent or guardian of the victim 
 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
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§ 20.04 
 

Aggravated kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative 

finding that the victim was younger than 17 years of age & 

the offender is the parent or guardian of the victim 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20A.02(a)(3) Trafficking of persons Lifetime 15 years, Tier I 

§ 20A.02(a)(4) Trafficking of persons Lifetime 15 years, Tier I 

§ 20A.02(a)(7) Trafficking of persons Lifetime 25 years, Tier II 

§ 20A.02(a)(8) Trafficking of persons Lifetime 25 years, Tier II 

§ 21.02
1
 Continuous sexual abuse of young child or children Lifetime 25  years, Tier II 

§ 21.02
2
 Continuous sexual abuse of young child or children Lifetime No duty to Register 

§ 21.08 
 

Indecent exposure—second violation, but not if the second 

violation results in deferred adjudication 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 21.11(a)(1) 
 

Indecency with a child by contact & involved consensual 

conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. 

§ 16911(5)(C) 

Lifetime 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

        

     

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

§ 21.11(a)(2) 
 

Indecency with a child by exposure & involved consensual 

conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. 

§ 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 22.011 
 

Sexual assault, offense is solely based on the victim’s age & 
involved consensual conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. 

§ 16911(5)(C) 

Lifetime 
 

No duty to Register 
 

§ 21.11(a)(1) Indecency with a child by contact where the victim has 

attained the age of 13 years but not the age of 16 years and (i) 
the touching did not involve the victim’s genitals; (ii) the 

touching involved the victim’s genitals but was done through 

the clothing; or (iii) the touching was not done (a) by force, 

25  years, Tier II Lifetime 

communicating unwillingness to participate 

(e) with a victim that is incapable of declining participation or 

by threatening or placing the victim in fear, (f) with a victim 

that is incapable of appraising the nature of the conduct, and 

(c) by rendering the victim unconscious, (d) by administering 

a drug, intoxicant or other similar substance to the victim, (e) 

will be subject to death, serious bodily injury or kidnapping, 

(b) by threatening or placing the victim in fear that any person 

 



3 

§ 22.011 
 

Sexual assault, offense is solely based on the victim’s age & 

the victim is 16 years of age or older 

Lifetime 
 

25  years, Tier II 
 

§ 22.021 
 

Aggravated sexual assault, offense is solely based on the 
victim’s age & involved consensual conducted as defined by 

42 U.S.C. § 16911(5)(C) 

Lifetime 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 25.02 Prohibited sexual conduct Lifetime 15 years, Tier I 

§ 25.02 
 

Prohibited sexual conduct & involved consensual conducted 

as defined by 42 U.S.C. § 16911(5)(C) 

Lifetime 
 

No duty to Register 
 

§ 25.02 
 

Prohibited sexual conduct & the victim is 16 years of age or 

older but less than 18 years of age 
 

Lifetime 
 

25  years, Tier II 
 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged in with the 

intent to commit 21.11(a)(2) 

Lifetime 
 

15  years, Tier I 
 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged in with the 
intent to commit 21.11(a)(1) & the victim is at least 13 years 

of age 

Lifetime 
 

25  years, Tier II 
 

§ 30.02(d)
1

 

 
Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged in with the 

intent to commit 21.02 

Lifetime 
 

25  years, Tier II 
 

§ 43.05(a)(2) 
 

Compelling prostitution of a person younger than 18 years of 

age 

Lifetime 
 

25 years, Tier II 
 

§ 43.23(h) Obscenity Lifetime 25 years, Tier II 

§ 43.25 Sexual performance by a child Lifetime 25 years, Tier II 

§ 43.25 
 

Sexual performance by a child & involved consensual 

conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. § 16911(5)(C) 

Lifetime 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 43.26(a) Possessing or promoting child pornography Lifetime 15 years, Tier I 

§ 43.26(e) Possessing or promoting child pornography Lifetime 25 years, Tier II 
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: § 20.02 
 

Unlawful restraint with an Art. 42.015 

affirmative finding that the victim was younger 

than 17 years of age & the offender is the parent 

or guardian of the victim 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20.03 
 

Kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative 

finding that the victim was younger than 17 

years of age & the offender is the parent or 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

 



1 
All acts of “sexual abuse,” defined in Texas Penal Code § 21.02(c), are:  indecency with a child by contact with a child at least 13 

years of age and committed in a manner other than by touching, including touching through the clothing, the breast of a child (§ 
21.11(a)(1)); burglary of a habitation committed with the intent to commit the previous listed offense (§ 30.02(d)); sexual performance 

by child (§ 43.25); or compelling prostitution of a minor (§ 43.05(a)(2)) 
2 

All acts of “sexual abuse,” defined in Texas Penal Code § 21.02(c), are:  indecency with a child by contact with a child at least 13 

years of age and committed with consensual conduct as defined by 42 U.S.C § 16911(5)(C) 
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  guardian of the victim   
  

A
n
  
at

te
m

p
t,

 c
o
n
sp

ir
ac

y
, 

so
li

ci
ta

ti
o
n

, 
o
r 

so
li

ci
ta

ti
o
n
 o

f 
a 

m
in

o
r 

to
 

co
m

m
it

: 
 

§ 20.04 
 

Aggravated kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 

affirmative finding that the victim was younger 

than 17 years of age & the offender is the parent 

or guardian of the victim 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 21.02
2
 

 
Continuous sexual abuse of young child or 

children 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 21.11(a)(1) 
 

Indecency with a child by contact & involved 

consensual conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. 

§ 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 21.11(a)(2) 
 

Indecency with a child by exposure & involved 

consensual conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. 

§ 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 22.011 
 

Sexual assault, offense is solely based on the 
victim’s age & involved consensual conducted 

as defined by 42 U.S.C. § 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 22.021 
 

Aggravated sexual assault, offense is solely 

based on the victim’s age & involved consensual 

conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. 

§ 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 25.02 
 

Prohibited sexual conduct & involved 

consensual conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. 

§ 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No duty to Register 
 

§ 43.25 
 

Sexual performance by a child & involved 

consensual conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. 

§ 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No duty to Register 
 

 



Registrants who were 17 years of age or older at the time the offense 

resulting in a reportable conviction or adjudication was committed (cont.) 
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Reportable convictions or adjudications where the registration period under Texas law does not exceed the minimum registration period 

under federal law 
 Length of Duty to Register as a Sex Offender 

Texas Offense Texas Federal 

§ 20.02 
 

Unlawful restraint with an Art. 42.015 affirmative finding that 

the victim was younger than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

15 years, Tier I 
 

§ 20.03 
 

Kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative finding that the 

victim was younger than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 20.04 
 

Aggravated kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative 

finding that the victim was younger than 17 years of age 
 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 20.04(a)(4) 
 

Aggravated kidnapping committed or engaged in with the 

intent to violate or abuse the victim sexually 

Lifetime 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 21.02
1
 Continuous sexual abuse of young child or children Lifetime Lifetime, Tier III 

        

     

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

§ 21.11(a)(1) 
 

Indecency with a child by contact & the victim is younger 

than 13 years of age 

Lifetime 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 21.11(a)(2) Indecency with a child by exposure 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

conduct, or (vii) with a victim that is incapable of declining 

participation or communicating unwillingness to participate 

with a victim that is incapable of appraising the nature of the 

the victim, (v) by threatening or placing the victim in fear, (vi) 

kidnapping, (iii) by rendering the victim unconscious, (iv) by 
administering a drug, intoxicant or other similar substance to 

any person will be subject to death, serious bodily injury or 

involved the victim’s genitals; and the touching was done (i) 

by force, (ii) by threatening or placing the victim in fear that 

touching was not done through the victim’s clothing and 

attained the age of 13 years but not the age of 16 years; the 
Indecency with a child by contact where the victim has Lifetime, Tier III Lifetime § 21.11(a)(1) 
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§ 22.011 Sexual assault Lifetime Lifetime, Tier III 

§ 22.011 
 

Sexual assault, offense is solely based on the victim’s age & 

the victim is less than 16 years of age 

Lifetime 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 22.021 Aggravated sexual assault Lifetime Lifetime, Tier III 

§ 22.021 
 

Aggravated sexual assault, offense is solely based on the 

victim’s age 

Lifetime 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 25.02 
 

Prohibited sexual conduct & the victim is less than 16 years of 

age 

Lifetime 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged in with the 

intent to commit 20.04(a)(4), 22.011, 22.021 or 25.02 

Lifetime 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged in with the 

intent to commit 21.11(a)(1) & the victim is younger than 13 

years of age 

Lifetime 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 30.02(d)
1

 

 
Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged in with the 

intent to commit 21.02 

Lifetime 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 33.021(b) Online solicitation of a minor 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 33.021(c) Online solicitation of a minor 10 years post discharge 25 years, Tier II 

§ 43.05(a)(1) Compelling prostitution 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 
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§ 20.02 
 

Unlawful restraint with an Art. 42.015 

affirmative finding that the victim was younger 

than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

15 years, Tier I 
 

§ 20.03 
 

Kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative 
finding that the victim was younger than 17 

years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 20.04 
 

Aggravated kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 

affirmative finding that the victim was younger 

than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 20.04(a)(4) 
 

Aggravated kidnapping committed or engaged 

in with the intent to violate or abuse the victim 

sexually 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 20A.02(a)(3) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 20A.02(a)(4) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 20A.02(a)(7) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge 25 years, Tier II 
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 § 20A.02(a)(8) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge 25 years, Tier II 

§ 21.02
1
 

 
Continuous sexual abuse of young child or 

children 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 21.02
2
 

 
Continuous sexual abuse of young child or 

children 

10 years post discharge 
 

25  years, Tier II 
 

        

     

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

 

  

  

  

        

     

  

  

  

  

  

  similar substance to the victim, (v) by 

administering a drug, intoxicant or other 

by rendering the victim unconscious, (iv) by 

victim in fear that any person will be subject to 

death, serious bodily injury or kidnapping, (iii) 

by force, (ii) by threatening or placing the 

victim’s genitals; and the touching was done ( 

the age of 16 years; the touching was not done 

through the victim’s clothing and involved the 

victim has attained the age of 13 years but not 

Lifetime, Tier III 10 years post discharge Indecency with a child by contact where the § 21.11(a)(1) 

to participate 

participation or communicating unwillingness 

with a victim that is incapable of declining 

appraising the nature of the conduct, and (e) 

in fear, (f) with a victim that is incapable of 

victim, (e) by threatening or placing the victim 

intoxicant or other similar substance to the 
unconscious, (d) by administering a drug, 

kidnapping, (c) by rendering the victim 

be subject to death, serious bodily injury or 

placing the victim in fear that any person will 

not done (a) by force, (b) by threatening or 
through the clothing; or (iii) the touching was 

involved the victim’s genitals but was done 

involve the victim’s genitals; (ii) the touching 

the age of 16 years and (i) the touching did not 

victim has attained the age of 13 years but not 

25  years, Tier II 10 years post discharge Indecency with a child by contact where the § 21.11(a)(1) 
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§ 21.11(a)(1) 
 

Indecency with a child by contact & the victim 

is younger than 13 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 21.11(a)(2) Indecency with a child by exposure 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 22.011 Sexual assault 10 years post discharge Lifetime, Tier III 

§ 22.011 
 

Sexual assault, offense is solely based on the 

victim’s age & the victim is less than 16 years 

of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 20A.02(a)(8) 
 

Sexual assault, offense is solely based on the 
victim’s age & the victim is 16 years of age or 

older 

10 years post discharge 
 

25  years, Tier II 
 

§ 22.021 Aggravated sexual assault 10 years post discharge Lifetime, Tier III 

§ 22.021 
 

Aggravated sexual assault, offense is solely 

based on the victim’s age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 25.02 Prohibited sexual conduct 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 25.02 
 

Prohibited sexual conduct & the victim is less 

than 16 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 25.02 
 

Prohibited sexual conduct & the victim is 16 

years of age or older but less than 18 years of 

age 

10 years post discharge 
 

25  years, Tier II 
 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged 

in with the intent to commit 20.04(a)(4), 

22.011, 22.021 or 25.02 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged 

in with the intent to commit 21.11(a)(2) 

10 years post discharge 
 

15  years, Tier I 
 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged 
in with the intent to commit 21.11(a)(1) & the 

victim is younger than 13 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

with a victim that is incapable of appraising the 

nature of the conduct, or (vii) with a victim that 

threatening or placing the victim in fear, (vi) 

communicating unwillingness to participate 

is incapable of declining participation or 

 



1 
One act of “sexual abuse,” defined in Texas Penal Code § 21.02(c), is: aggravated kidnapping committed or engaged in with the 

intent to violate or abuse the victim sexually (§ 20.04(a)(4)); indecency with a child by contact with a child less than 13 years of age 
and committed in a manner other  than by touching, including touching through the clothing, the breast of a child (§ 21.11(a)(1)); 

sexual assault (§ 22.011); aggravated sexual assault (§ 22.021); burglary of a habitation committed with the intent to commit one of 

the previous listed offenses (§ 30.02(d)); or trafficking of persons (§ 20A.02(a)(7)  or (8)) 
2 

All acts of “sexual abuse,” defined in Texas Penal Code § 21.02(c), are:  indecency with a child by contact with a child at least 13 

years of age and committed in a manner other than by touching, including touching through the clothing, the breast of a child (§ 

21.11(a)(1)); burglary of a habitation committed with the intent to commit the previous listed offense (§ 30.02(d)); sexual performance 

by child (§ 43.25); or compelling prostitution of a minor (§ 43.05(a)(2)) 

Registrants who were younger than 17 years of age at the time the offense 

resulting in a reportable conviction or adjudication was committed and 

the reportable conviction or adjudication is based on a conviction or deferred adjudication 

9 

Reportable convictions or adjudications where the registration period under Texas law exceeds the minimum registration period under 

federal law 
 Length of Duty to Register as a Sex Offender 

Texas Offense Texas SORNA 
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§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged 

in with the intent to commit 21.11(a)(1) & the 

victim is at least 13 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

25  years, Tier II 
 

§ 30.02(d)
1
 

 
Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged 

in with the intent to commit 21.02 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 30.02(d)
2
 

 
Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged 

in with the intent to commit 21.02 

10 years post discharge 
 

25  years, Tier II 
 

§ 43.05(a)(1) Compelling prostitution 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 43.05(a)(2) 
 

Compelling prostitution of a person younger 

than 18 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

25 years, Tier II 
 

§ 43.25 Sexual performance by a child 10 years post discharge 25 years, Tier II 

§ 43.26(a) Possessing or promoting child pornography 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 43.26(e) Possessing or promoting child pornography 10 years post discharge 25 years, Tier II 
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§ 20.02 
 

Unlawful restraint with an Art. 42.015 affirmative finding that 

the victim was younger than 17 years of age & the offender is 

the parent or guardian of the victim 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20.03 
 

Kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative finding that the 

victim was younger than 17 years of age & the offender is the 

parent or guardian of the victim 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20.04 
 

Aggravated kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative 

finding that the victim was younger than 17 years of age & 

the offender is the parent or guardian of the victim 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 21.08 
 

Indecent exposure—second violation, but not if the second 

violation results in deferred adjudication 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 21.11(a)(1) 
 

Indecency with a child by contact & involved consensual 

conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. § 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 21.11(a)(2) 
 

Indecency with a child by exposure & involved consensual 

conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. § 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 22.011 
 

Sexual assault, offense is solely based on the victim’s age & 
involved consensual conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. 

§ 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No duty to Register 
 

§ 22.021 
 

Aggravated sexual assault, offense is solely based on the 
victim’s age & involved consensual conducted as defined by 

42 U.S.C. § 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 25.02 
 

Prohibited sexual conduct & involved consensual conducted 

as defined by 42 U.S.C. § 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 43.25 
 

Sexual performance by a child & involved consensual 

conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. § 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
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§ 20.02 
 

Unlawful restraint with an Art. 42.015 

affirmative finding that the victim was younger 

than 17 years of age & the offender is the parent 

or guardian of the victim 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20.03 
 

Kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative 
finding that the victim was younger than 17 

years of age & the offender is the parent or 

guardian of the victim 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20.04 Aggravated kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

 



Registrants who were younger than 17 years of age at the time the offense 

resulting in a reportable conviction or adjudication was committed and 

the reportable conviction or adjudication is based on a conviction 

or deferred adjudication (cont.) 
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Reportable convictions or adjudications where the registration period under Texas law does not exceed the minimum registration period 

under federal law 

  affirmative finding that the victim was younger 

than 17 years of age & the offender is the parent 

or guardian of the victim 
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§ 21.11(a)(1) 
 

Indecency with a child by contact & involved 

consensual conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. 

§ 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 21.11(a)(2) 
 

Indecency with a child by exposure & involved 

consensual conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. 

§ 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 22.011 
 

Sexual assault, offense is solely based on the 

victim’s age & involved consensual conducted 

as defined by 42 U.S.C. § 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 22.021 
 

Aggravated sexual assault, offense is solely 
based on the victim’s age & involved consensual 

conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. 

§ 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 25.02 
 

Prohibited sexual conduct & involved 

consensual conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. 

§ 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 43.25 
 

Sexual performance by a child & involved 

consensual conducted as defined by 42 U.S.C. 

§ 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

 



§ 21.11(a)(1) Indecency with a child by contact where the victim has 10 years post discharge 25  years, Tier II 

attained the age of 13 years but not the age of 16 years and (i) 

the touching did not involve the victim’s genitals; (ii) the 

touching involved the victim’s genitals but was done through 

the clothing; or (iii) the touching was not done (a) by force, 

(b) by threatening or placing the victim in fear that any person 

will be subject to death, serious bodily injury or kidnapping, 

(c) by rendering the victim unconscious, (d) by administering 

a drug, intoxicant or other similar substance to the victim, (e) 

by threatening or placing the victim in fear, (f) with a victim 

that is incapable of appraising the nature of the conduct, and 

(e) with a victim that is incapable of declining participation or 

communicating unwillingness to participate 

§ 21.11(a)(1) Indecency with a child by contact where the victim has 10 years post discharge Lifetime, Tier III 

attained the age of 13 years but not the age of 16 years; the 

touching was not done through the victim’s clothing and 

involved the victim’s genitals; and the touching was done (i) 

by force, (ii) by threatening or placing the victim in fear that 

any person will be subject to death, serious bodily injury or 

12 

 Length of Duty to Register as a Sex Offender 

Texas Offense Texas SORNA 

§ 20.02 
 

Unlawful restraint with an Art. 42.015 affirmative finding that 

the victim was younger than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

15 years, Tier I 
 

§ 20.03 
 

Kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative finding that the 

victim was younger than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 20.04 
 

Aggravated kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative 

finding that the victim was younger than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 20.04(a)(4) 
 

Aggravated kidnapping committed or engaged in with the 

intent to violate or abuse the victim sexually 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 20A.02(a)(3) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 20A.02(a)(4) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 20A.02(a)(7) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge 25 years, Tier II 

§ 20A.02(a)(8) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge 25 years, Tier II 
        

     

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

        

     

  

  

  

 



kidnapping, (iii) by rendering the victim unconscious, (iv) by 

administering a drug, intoxicant or other similar substance to 

the victim, (v) by threatening or placing the victim in fear, 

(vi) with a victim that is incapable of appraising the nature of 

the conduct, or (vii) with a victim that is incapable of 

declining participation or communicating unwillingness to 

participate 

13 

     

  

  

  

  

  

§ 21.11(a)(1) 
 

Indecency with a child by contact & the victim is younger 

than 13 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 21.11(a)(2) Indecency with a child by exposure 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 22.011 Sexual assault 10 years post discharge Lifetime, Tier III 

§ 22.011 
 

Sexual assault, offense is solely based on the victim’s age & 

the victim is less than 16 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 22.011 
 

Sexual assault, offense is solely based on the victim’s age & 

the victim is 16 years of age or older 

10 years post discharge 
 

25  years, Tier II 
 

§ 22.021 
 

Aggravated sexual assault, offense is solely based on the 

victim’s age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 22.021 Aggravated sexual assault 10 years post discharge Lifetime, Tier III 

§ 25.02 Prohibited sexual conduct 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 25.02 
 

Prohibited sexual conduct & the victim is less than 16 years 

of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 25.02 
 

Prohibited sexual conduct & the victim is 16 years of age or 

older but less than 18 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

25 years, Tier II 
 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged in with the 

intent to commit 20.04(a)(4), 22.011, 22.021 or 25.02 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged in with the 

intent to commit 21.11(a)(2) 

10 years post discharge 
 

15  years, Tier I 
 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged in with the 

intent to commit 21.11(a)(1) & the victim is younger than 13 

years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged in with the 

intent to commit 21.11(a)(1) & the victim is at least 13 years 

of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

25  years, Tier II 
 

 



§ 21.11(a)(1) Indecency with a child by contact where the 10 years post discharge 25  years, Tier II 

victim has attained the age of 13 years but not 

the age of 16 years and (i) the touching did not 

involve the victim’s genitals; (ii) the touching 

involved the victim’s genitals but was done 

through the clothing; or (iii) the touching was 

not done (a) by force, (b) by threatening or 

placing the victim in fear that any person will 

be subject to death, serious bodily injury or 

14 
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§ 33.021(c) Online solicitation of a minor 10 years post discharge 25 years, Tier II 

§ 43.05(a)(1) Compelling prostitution 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 43.05(a)(2) 
 

Compelling prostitution of a person younger than 18 years of 

age 

10 years post discharge 
 

25 years, Tier II 
 

§ 43.23(h) Obscenity 10 years post discharge 25 years, Tier II 

§ 43.25 Sexual performance by a child 10 years post discharge 25 years, Tier II 

§ 43.26(a) Possessing or promoting child pornography 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 43.26(e) Possessing or promoting child pornography 10 years post discharge 25 years, Tier II 
 § 20.02 

 
Unlawful restraint with an Art. 42.015 

affirmative finding that the victim was younger 

than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

15 years, Tier I 
 

§ 20.03 
 

Kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative 

finding that the victim was younger than 17 

years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 20.04 
 

Aggravated kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 

affirmative finding that the victim was younger 

than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 20.04(a)(4) 
 

Aggravated kidnapping committed or engaged 

in with the intent to violate or abuse the victim 

sexually 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 20A.02(a)(3) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 20A.02(a)(4) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 20A.02(a)(7) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge 25 years, Tier II 

§ 20A.02(a)(8) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge 25 years, Tier II 
        

     

  

  

  

  

  

 



§ 21.11(a)(1) Indecency with a child by contact where the 10 years post discharge Lifetime, Tier III 

victim has attained the age of 13 years but not 

the age of 16 years; the touching was not done 

through the victim’s clothing and involved the 

victim’s genitals; and the touching was done 

(i) by force, (ii) by threatening or placing the 

victim in fear that any person will be subject to 

death, serious bodily injury or kidnapping, (iii) 

by rendering the victim unconscious, (iv) by 

administering a drug, intoxicant or other 

similar substance to the victim, (v) by 

threatening or placing the victim in fear, (vi) 

with a victim that is incapable of appraising 

the nature of the conduct, or (vii) with a victim 

that is incapable of declining participation or 

communicating unwillingness to participate 

kidnapping, (c) by rendering the victim 

unconscious, (d) by administering a drug, 

intoxicant or other similar substance to the 

victim, (e) by threatening or placing the victim 

in fear, (f) with a victim that is incapable of 

appraising the nature of the conduct, and (e) 

participation or communicating unwillingness 

to participate 
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§ 21.11(a)(1) 
 

Indecency with a child by contact & the victim 

is younger than 13 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 21.11(a)(2) Indecency with a child by exposure 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 22.011 Sexual assault 10 years post discharge Lifetime, Tier III 

§ 22.011 
 

Sexual assault, offense is solely based on the 
victim’s age & the victim is less than 16 years 

of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 22.011 
 

Sexual assault, offense is solely based on the 

victim’s age & the victim is 16 years of age or 

10 years post discharge 
 

25  years, Tier II 
 

with a victim that is incapable of declining 
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§ 22.021 Aggravated sexual assault 10 years post discharge Lifetime, Tier III 

§ 22.021 
 

Aggravated sexual assault, offense is solely 

based on the victim’s age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 25.02 Prohibited sexual conduct 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 25.02 
 

Prohibited sexual conduct & the victim is less 

than 16 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 25.02 
 

Prohibited sexual conduct & the victim is 16 

years of age or older but less than 18 years of 

age 

10 years post discharge 
 

25 years, Tier II 
 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged 

in with the intent to commit 20.04(a)(4), 

22.011, 22.021 or 25.02 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged 

in with the intent to commit 21.11(a)(2) 

10 years post discharge 
 

15  years, Tier I 
 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged 

in with the intent to commit 21.11(a)(1) & the 

victim is younger than 13 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged 

in with the intent to commit 21.11(a)(1) & the 

victim is at least 13 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

25  years, Tier II 
 

§ 43.05(a)(1) Compelling prostitution 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 43.05(a)(2) 
 

Compelling prostitution of a person younger 

than 18 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

25 years, Tier II 
 

§ 43.25 Sexual performance by a child 10 years post discharge 25 years, Tier II 

§ 43.26(a) Possessing or promoting child pornography 10 years post discharge 15 years, Tier I 

§ 43.26(e) Possessing or promoting child pornography 10 years post discharge 25 years, Tier II 

 



§ 21.11(a)(1) Indecency with a child by contact & the victim is at least 16 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

years of age 

§ 21.11(a)(1) Indecency with a child by contact committed where the victim 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

has not attained the age of 16 years and (i) the touching did 

not involve the victim’s genitals; (ii) the touching involved 

the victim’s genitals but was done through the clothing; or 

(iii) the touching was not done (a) by force, (b) by threatening 

or placing the victim in fear that any person will be subject to 

death, serious bodily injury or kidnapping, (c) by rendering 

the victim unconscious, (d) by administering a drug, 

intoxicant or other similar substance to the victim, (e) by 

threatening or placing the victim in fear, (f) with a victim that 

Registrants who were 14 years of age or older at the time the offense 

resulting in a reportable conviction or adjudication was committed and 

the reportable conviction or adjudication is based on an adjudication of 

delinquent conduct 

17 

Reportable convictions or adjudications where the registration period under Texas law exceeds the minimum registration period under 

federal law 
 Length of Duty to Register as a Sex Offender 

Texas Offense Texas SORNA 

§ 20.02 
 

Unlawful restraint with an Art. 42.015 affirmative finding that 

the victim was younger than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20.03 
 

Kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative finding that the 

victim was younger than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20.04 
 

Aggravated kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative 

finding that the victim was younger than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20A.02(a)(3) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 20A.02(a)(4) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 20A.02(a)(7) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 20A.02(a)(8) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 21.08 
 

Indecent exposure—second violation, but not if the second 

violation results in deferred adjudication 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

        

     

        

     

 

  

  

  

  

  

 



§ 21.11(a)(1) Indecency with a child by contact & the victim is at 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

is incapable of appraising the nature of the conduct, and (e) 

with a victim that is incapable of declining participation or 

communicating unwillingness to participate 

18 

     

  

§ 21.11(a)(2) Indecency with a child by exposure 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 22.011 Sexual assault 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 22.021 
 

Aggravated sexual assault, offense is solely based on the 

victim’s age & the offense involved consensual conduct as 

defined by 42 U.S.C § 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 22.021 
 

Aggravated sexual assault, offense is solely based on the 

victim’s age & the victim is at least 12 of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 25.02 Prohibited sexual conduct 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged in with the 

intent to commit 21.11 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 33.021(c) Online solicitation of a minor 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 43.05(a)(1) Compelling prostitution 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 43.05(a)(2) 
 

Compelling prostitution of a person younger than 18 years of 

age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 43.23(h) Obscenity 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 43.25 Sexual performance by a child 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 43.26 Possessing or promoting child pornography 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

A
n
  
at

te
m

p
t,

 c
o
n
sp

ir
ac

y
, 

so
li

ci
ta

ti
o
n
, 
o
r 

so
li

ci
ta

ti
o
n
 o

f 
a 

m
in

o
r 

to
 c

o
m

m
it

: 

§ 20.02 
 

Unlawful restraint with an Art. 42.015 affirmative 

finding that the victim was younger than 17 years 

of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20.03 
 

Kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative finding 

that the victim was younger than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20.04 
 

Aggravated kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 

affirmative finding that the victim was younger 

than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20A.02(a)(3) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 20A.02(a)(4) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 20A.02(a)(7) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 20A.02(a)(8) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 
        

 



least 16 years of age 

§ 21.11(a)(1) Indecency with a child by contact committed where 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

the victim has not attained the age of 16 years and 

(i) the touching did not involve the victim’s 

genitals; (ii) the touching involved the victim’s 

genitals but was done through the clothing; or (iii) 

the touching was not done (a) by force, (b) by 

threatening or placing the victim in fear that any 

person will be subject to death, serious bodily 

injury or kidnapping, (c) by rendering the victim 

unconscious, (d) by administering a drug, 

intoxicant or other similar substance to the victim, 

(e) by threatening or placing the victim in fear, (f) 

with a victim that is incapable of appraising the 

nature of the conduct, and (e) with a victim that is 

incapable of declining participation or 

communicating unwillingness to participate 
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§ 21.11(a)(2) Indecency with a child by exposure 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 22.011 Sexual assault 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 22.021 
 

Aggravated sexual assault, offense is solely based 

on the victim’s age & the offense involved 

consensual conduct as defined by 42 U.S.C 

§ 16911(5)(C) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 22.021 
 

Aggravated sexual assault, offense is solely based 

on the victim’s age & the victim is at least 12 of 

age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 25.02 Prohibited sexual conduct 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged in 

with the intent to commit 21.11 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 43.05(a)(1) Compelling prostitution 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 43.05(a)(2) 
 

Compelling prostitution of a person younger than 

18 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 43.25 Sexual performance by a child 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 43.26 Possessing or promoting child pornography 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

 



§ 21.11(a)(1) Indecency with a child by contact where the victim has not 10 years post discharge Lifetime, Tier III 

attained the age of 16 years; the touching was not done 
through the victim’s clothing and involved the victim’s 

genitals; and the touching was done (i) by force, (ii) by 

threatening or placing the victim in fear that any person will 
be subject to death, serious bodily injury or kidnapping, (iii) 

by rendering the victim unconscious, (iv) by administering a 

drug, intoxicant or other similar substance to the victim, (v) 

by threatening or placing the victim in fear, (vi) with a victim 

that is incapable of appraising the nature of the conduct, or 

(vii) with a victim that is incapable of declining participation 

or communicating unwillingness to participate 

Registrants who were 14 years of age or older at the time the offense 

resulting in a reportable conviction or adjudication was committed and 

the reportable conviction or adjudication is based on an 

adjudication of delinquent conduct (cont.) 

20 

Reportable convictions or adjudications where the registration period under Texas law does not exceed the minimum registration period 

under federal law 
 Length of Duty to Register as a Sex Offender 

Texas Offense Texas SORNA 

§ 20.04(a)(4) 
 

Aggravated kidnapping committed or engaged in with the 

intent to violate or abuse the victim sexually 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

        

     

  

 

  

  

  

  

§ 22.011
1
 Sexual assault 10 years post discharge Lifetime, Tier III 

§ 22.021 Aggravated sexual assault 10 years post discharge Lifetime, Tier III 

§ 22.021 
 

Aggravated sexual assault, offense is solely based on the 

victim’s age & the victim is younger than 12 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 25.02 Prohibited sexual conduct & the victim is at least 12 of age 10 years post discharge Lifetime, Tier III 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged in with the 

intent to commit 20.04(a)(4), 22.011, 22.021 or 25.02 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

 



§ 21.11(a)(1) Indecency with a child by contact where the victim 10 years post discharge Lifetime, Tier III 

has not attained the age of 16 years; the touching was 

not done through the victim’s clothing and involved 

the victim’s genitals; and the touching was done (i) 

by force, (ii) by threatening or placing the victim in 
fear that any person will be subject to death, serious 

bodily injury or kidnapping, (iii) by rendering the 

victim unconscious, (iv) by administering a drug, 

intoxicant or other similar substance to the victim, (v) 

by threatening or placing the victim in fear, (vi) with 

a victim that is incapable of appraising the nature of 

the conduct, or (vii) with a victim that is incapable of 

declining participation or communicating 

unwillingness to participate 

1 
The adjudicated offense is comparable to or more severe than 18 U.S.C.S. § 2241, aggravated sexual abuse, or was an attempt or 

conspiracy to commit such an offense 
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 § 20.02 
 

Aggravated kidnapping committed or engaged in 

with the intent to violate or abuse the victim sexually 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

        

     

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

§ 22.011
1
 Sexual assault 10 years post discharge Lifetime, Tier III 

§ 22.021 Aggravated sexual assault 10 years post discharge Lifetime, Tier III 

§ 22.021 
 

Aggravated sexual assault, offense is solely based on 

the victim’s age & the victim is younger than 12 

years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 25.02 
 

Prohibited sexual conduct & the victim is at least 12 

of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged in 

with the intent to commit 20.04(a)(4), 22.011, 22.021 

or 25.02 

10 years post discharge 
 

Lifetime, Tier III 
 

 



Registrants who were younger than 14 years of age at the time the offense 

resulting in a reportable conviction or adjudication was committed and 

the reportable conviction or adjudication is based on an adjudication of 

delinquent conduct 

22 

Reportable convictions or adjudications where the registration period under Texas law exceeds the minimum registration period under 

federal law 
 Length of Duty to Register as a Sex Offender 

Texas Offense Texas SORNA 

§ 20.02 
 

Unlawful restraint with an Art. 42.015 affirmative finding that 

the victim was younger than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20.03 
 

Kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative finding that the 

victim was younger than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20.04 
 

Aggravated kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative 

finding that the victim was younger than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20.04(a)(4) 
 

Aggravated kidnapping committed or engaged in with the 

intent to violate or abuse the victim sexually 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20A.02(a)(3) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 20A.02(a)(4) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 20A.02(a)(7) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 20A.02(a)(8) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 21.08 
 

Indecent exposure—second violation, but not if the second 

violation results in deferred adjudication 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 21.11(a)(1) Indecency with a child by contact 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 21.11(a)(2) Indecency with a child by exposure 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 22.011 Sexual assault 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 22.021 Aggravated sexual assault 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 25.02 Prohibited sexual conduct 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged in with the 

intent to commit 21.11, 22.011, 22.021, 25.02, or 20.04(a)(4) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 33.021(c) Online solicitation of a minor 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 43.05(a)(1) Compelling prostitution 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 
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§ 43.05(a)(2) 
 

Compelling prostitution of a person younger than 18 years of 

age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 43.23(h) Obscenity 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 43.25 Sexual performance by a child 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 43.26 Possessing or promoting child pornography 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 
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§ 20.02 
 

Unlawful restraint with an Art. 42.015 affirmative 
finding that the victim was younger than 17 years of 

age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20.03 
 

Kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative finding 

that the victim was younger than 17 years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20.04 
 

Aggravated kidnapping with an Art. 42.015 affirmative 

finding that the victim was younger than 17 years of 

age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20.04(a)(4) 
 

Aggravated kidnapping committed or engaged in with 

the intent to violate or abuse the victim sexually 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 20A.02(a)(3) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 20A.02(a)(4) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 20A.02(a)(7) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 20A.02(a)(8) Trafficking of persons 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 21.11(a)(1) Indecency with a child by contact 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 21.11(a)(2) Indecency with a child by exposure 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 22.011 Sexual assault 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 22.021 Aggravated sexual assault 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 25.02 Prohibited sexual conduct 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 30.02(d) 
 

Burglary of a habitation committed or engaged in with 

the intent to commit 21.11, 22.011, 22.021, 25.02, or 

20.04(a)(4) 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 43.05(a)(1) Compelling prostitution 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 43.05(a)(2) 
 

Compelling prostitution of a person younger than 18 

years of age 

10 years post discharge 
 

No Duty to Register 
 

§ 43.25 Sexual performance by a child 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

§ 43.26 Possessing or promoting child pornography 10 years post discharge No Duty to Register 

 


